Menu

What's with the ads?

Æthelthryth the Texan

Making hands on science a habit when you dread it......

Any tips from others who dread the set up, mess, and time of hands on science for the younger set, but have a science crazy kid? 

I'm hoping this is sort of like when I started with Right Start and hated all of the manipulatives and dreaded every lesson, and you wonderful people gave me all sorts of tips and tricks that made it go so much easier, to now 3+ years later I'm an old RS pro. 

Kids in question are dd6 and ds7. Things I have/we have done some of- MindBlowing Science, Apologia Astrology, Apologia Winged Things (whichever one that is), current Mystery Science subscrption, Magic School Bus Science kits, and Sonlight Science Level B. I've made it through no more than 1/4-1/3 of any of those.

Ds7 is the hands on one. Dd6 is easy- she loves paleontology so we just read a bunch of books and then go outside and dig in the dirt. He however, wants to be doing experiment type things. I bought them some Steve Spangler stuff for Christmas and he's been nuts for it. How do I keep this going? I'd like to have a goal of 3x a week for something hands on for him/them. He's somewhat advanced in math, but both are still early readers- not reading really independently apart from ABeka 1 books. 

He's an excellent candidate for RSO Chemistry, but I wanted to use what I have for the rest of this year through May instead of just keep buying more with no real plan of how to make using it happen. We get everything else done- Science is my only sticking point and I know it's because of the prep and clean up that I dread it so. Well that and that so many of the experiments never quite deliver as promise. We've had crystal and slime flops of late and it just adds to the already existing aggravation. 

Any helpful organizational or motivational hacks for me? 

I have some suggestions.