Menu

Self Taught Readers

What exactly do you mean naturally without formal schooling? My kids learned primarily by listening and watching me read aloud and I occasionally talked to them about synthetic phonics stuff as it came up. We didn't follow a curriculum or schedule and they've never schooled outside the home.

• Like 1

One of my boys taught himself to read around 3.5yo without me even noticing. I'm not entirely sure how he did it, but I know it started with light switches (he noticed the tiny words on and off on the switch and that the light was either on or off when he could see those words). I wish I'd been paying more attention to him at the time, but I was very preoccupied with his special needs little brother.

• Like 2

Back in the early 70s, I learned to read without instruction at some point before entering kindergarten.  I have no idea how I learned, but I just did.  Reading was like breathing.  We never went to the library, but we did have a book about the 3 little kittens who lost their mittens 🙂 (probably some other books, too, but I don't remember them). Someone read the kittens book to me over and over and I think that's how I figured out the code.  Once I knew the code, I just took off from there. 

My younger daughter is a pretty natural reader.  I don't remember doing anything formal with her.  For fun, she watched the Letter Factory videos, PBS programming, and played early levels of Starfall.  Her reading naturally improved the older she got.