Menu

Tipping movers???

mlktwins

So... my dad’s move to his new home is happening Saturday.  We’ve hired movers, which DH and I have never used in a move before, and will be the ones to review the final bill before the movers leave.  Assuming the movers do a great job, do we tip them individually?  What would be an appropriate amount?  There will be 3 movers.

Agreeing with the tipping.  We paid $20 per person, and $50 for the team leader. 
It was money well spent, as our moving team did a great job.
I was glad to have found out about the need to tip (via the internet) beforehand.

ETA = we also provided some soda cans, but they finished the job before lunch (& didn't expect snacks/meal).

Edited by Beth S
  • Like 1

We had a full size semi truck move and paid the 3 guys $100/each plus bought them lunch.  They worked extremely hard on a hot day in August.

ETA: It's really nice to provide them with waters/drinks and some type of food for lunch.  One day we brought a bag of burgers and fries.  The other day we provided them with pizzas.

Edited by 1GirlTwinBoys
  • Like 1

We had a pretty big move. We had a week or so in between loading and unloading. I think we tipped them each $20 on each end but maybe $25-30. We definitely wanted to tip on the front end as we knew they would be the same guys unloading us and we figured a good relationship with them was worth it. We also had a cooler of drinks and some non perishable snacks available.

Our movers also packed (part of our relocation package). It felt so personal to have people handling all our stuff. We wanted them to like us when they were unloading 🙂

• Like 1

1 hour ago, teachermom2834 said: