Menu

DEA Drug Take Back Day (has anyone done this?)

mlktwins

I am cleaning out my dad's house and have removed all the old, expired meds.  They are at my house for now :-0 !!!

We have a DEA drug take-back day next Saturday and I want to prepare everything to get rid of it. 

Has anyone done this before?  The DEA website wasn't giving me the information I'm looking for.

My questions are:

1.  Can I be prepared before I go?  For example, have all the labels removed from the containers and ready to dump?  Do they want the bottles?  Do they want to know what meds I'm dumping?  Can I just have them all combined in plastic bags here at home and dump the bag when I get there?

2.  How do I handle liquid meds (i.e. old Tylenol 3)?

3.  Do they take tubes of prescription ointments and creams (i.e. for skin)?

4.  Do they take old over the counter stuff (i.e. Nyquil)?

I have never done this before so any information would be appreciated.

We have local events at least once a year, I think done by the sheriff's office. I've heard I can also drive stuff to the sheriff's office in a neighboring town at any time. I believe we're supposed to leave the medication in the original bottle but black out the name for privacy reasons.

• Like 1

11 minutes ago, prairiewindmomma said:

Different areas have different rules—we have done it in a couple of states. 

In my current state, Rx only, in original containers with labels still attached.

This.  The event and its rules are probably listed on the sponsors website.    You might also want to check with Walgreens and your local police department.   In our area, they both have a locked box ( kind of like a library dropbox ) where we can drop prescription drugs. 

• Like 2

57 minutes ago, Starfish said: