Menu

What's with the ads?

Joyful

AoPS discreet math courses - designate as regular or honors?

I'm working on DS's transcript in order to  support his application for a DE program. So, the designations probably don't matter much now. But I figure I might as well ask now, so that I don't have to ask next year when we apply to college.  ?

DS has worked through AoPS's Intro to C&P and Intro to NT on his own. I'm planning to give 0.5 credit to each of those. Are these "honors" equivalent or "regular" courses?

How about the Intermediate C&P book? Thanks!

(DS told me that his AoPS friends have said that the Intermediate NT online course is really hard. If your child has taken it, can you please comment on it also? Thanks!)

I have no experience with C&P, but I would NOT call Intro to Number Theory an honors courses, unless he did some extra things on the side and attempted several more challenging problems and carefully studied the solutions to many of the too-challenging problems that he'd missed and began to apply more sophisticated techniques to problems as the course went on.

We found Intro to NT pretty accessible. I'd award "regular" credit for each of those courses if they were completed more or less as written

• Thanks 1

I feel like one of the posters on this board has reported that the course for Intermediate NT is a beast, but I can't think of who.

DS13 enjoyed the intermediate number theory online class but it was hard (which is why he liked it, his boredom tolerance isn’t high). He did it in July 2017, so I didn’t count that class for credit as he has two math credits (calculus and linear algebra) in 7th and 8th grade that I can count for high school credits.