Menu

Favorite resource for homeschooling high school--info on record keeping, grades, common app, etc.

I'm just looking for a comprehensive source--website, book, even an app--that you find most helpful.  I realize we have "master thread" posts but I'd like a one-stop resource to recommend to a friend as she starts homeschooling high school for the first time and really wants to get a system in place.  (I've been doing it rather piecemeal for a few years now and could probably use some organization myself!)

Thanks for any recommendations!

There is NO *one* resource that covers ALL of those topics, because transcripts/recordkeeping is one big topic, and the college search process is another very different wide topic, while applying to college/Common App is yet another very broad topic.... etc. You will find whole books on each of those topics, LOL!

However, since your friend is just starting homeschooling high school, the key topics she will want to address are:
- making a high school plan (which includes understanding if your area has required credits for graduation AND understanding required credits for college admissions)
- deciding on whether or not to outsource any courses, and is so, finding the best providers for your needs
- deciding on whether or not she needs an umbrella/cover school for an accredited diploma (which also does your transcript)
- deciding on a method for record keeping, and then how to create a transcript (or outsource to a service)

Perhaps your friend would like to start with an overall guide to homeschooling high school, just to get a feel for the kinds of topics she'll want to research/address at some point. Debra Bell's Ultimate Guide to Homeschooling Teens, or Lea Ann Garfias' Homeschool High School Made Easy might help. Lee Binz has good material on record keeping/transcripts. I don't know if her materials also include making a high school plan, although she does have a "coffee break" book on how to homeschool grades 9 & 10.