Menu

anybody else beginning Ursa Minor this year?

I spent a few days hand-writing the Ursa Minor curriculum for years 7 - 12 on a couple sheets of huge art paper, annotating as I went.  Whew!  Now I'm just beginning to work on moving us toward Ursa Minor's Year 7, and thought it might be nice to see if anybody else is planning on using it. 

About Ursa Minor: it is a new Charlotte Mason curriculum, free in and of itself but employing some spendy resources (Michael Clay Thompson language arts, some pricey textbooks).  It has a STEM-y and secular focus.  Currently the booklists are available for years 7 - 12, and there are art/music selections made for each term as well as a handicrafts ideas page that goes from Year 1 - Year 12, I believe.  Here's the WTM thread that first mentioned it, and has lots of comments: CM people -- new resource.  The people who designed it have been busy with Life Circumstances lately, so they haven't been able to keep up with their release plans for weekly schedules/earlier years/etcetera. 

Looking at Year 7, there are a few things I'll need to change for us.  I've taken the Lepore King Philip's war book out and replaced it with two books: one authored by Lepore, Oxford University Press' "Ancient American World" (violence in "king Philip" is too explicit and central for my child) + one on the native American experience.  In world history I added a spine, the Cartoon Guide series, and am hoping to fit in some Egyptian history. 

BFSU drives me batty.  I'm subbing in Joy Hakim's history of science series, following the Build Your Library 8 schedule.