Menu

What's with the ads?

Sign in to follow this  
Kinsa

Making Art Special: A Curriculum for Special Education Art (Helen Goren Shafton)

Does anyone have any experience with this resource?  I'm considering buying it, but I'm just a little trigger shy.  Thoughts?

(Edited:  Can't get the link to work right.)

• Like 1

Well after the huge cooking score on ProEd, guess we should look there for art, lol. I'll go look at your find though. Sounds promising!

Kinsa, I found a link for the book you mentioned from Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/Making-Art-Special-Curriculum-Education/dp/1478341904/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1531921928&sr=8-1&keywords=Making+Art+Special%3A+A+Curriculum+for+Special+Education+Art+(Helen+Goren+Shafton)

I am not an artist but I have taken courses in an Academy of Art (out of personal interest) and have dabbled in all sorts of art pursuits with various media. It will be something I will be doing a lot more as I get older and as my responsibilites towards my boys lessen. That, and gardening ?.

Anyway, since you didn't get any replies from anyone using this book, I'll just give you some input, if that's ok. I think you could consider what you are looking to accomplish. I took a look at the preview pages of the book but could not get a good feel on how well they cover the elements of art. I did see some interesting projects in the previews though, and the images are in color. 

I have a ton of art resources; from curricula, to medium specific, to art form specific. I also have one that is specific for autism and I am linking it for you from Google Books because they have the most preview pages. I bought the latter about a year ago but have not started it with my youngest yet (it was purchased for him). Since I have the book I know it covers a lot of ground and puts good emphasis on the elements of art. If you are looking for a curriculum type resource here's the link for you to peruse it and see what you think: