Menu

Which language?

All of them.  But I have to say that within the states, ASL has.  I used to work in customer service positions and being able to converse even in basic asl with deaf patrons was invaluable.  I think anyone in a public position should have to learn signs associated with the service they offer - doctors, emts, cops, library workers, bankers...

Outside the states, the other languages I learned helped, but they both went back to knowing a Latin based language (I was able to make myself understood in other Romance languages and decipher writing), and the Greek alphabet, which was a gateway to Cyrillic based languages.  Again, if you can read and decipher, you can get around.

I think it depends on where you live. In my area it would be Spanish. Globally I feel like Mandarin is the most useful and will be going forward. It is difficult to learn late in life so it is fantastic to learn it in childhood. ASL can be a fantastic one to learn to not only assist the deaf community but can provide career prospects that are lucrative if someone becomes proficient. 

Quite honestly though, it takes a lot to stick with a foreign language through proficiency. Going with a language the student enjoys, finds a connection to the culture and people and has access to speakers locally so they can gain practice if desired is probably best. I fell in love with the Korean language as well as the people and culture when I was in my early 20s. It spawned a desire to learn the language and I felt motivated to do so. It might not be a widely spoken language but I still have a deep passion for it and the culture it is connected to. If you can light a fire then your odds are better they will take it seriously. 

• Like 1