Menu

I am new to HSDLA

I know of someone who has her children in Classical Conversations. CC isn't for me, although she loves to promote it, A LOT. She now is on this kick about HSLDA...She spoke to HSDLA and they had said that CC is a very challenging and full curriculum for high school - and she now thinks CC is one of the top academic programs out there. How important is HSDLA for college-bound children? Do universities highly regard HSDLA? I feel torn because I spend SOOOO much time researching fitting curricula for my kids, which really is a mix of curricula to keep them progressing and interested. I didn't feel I needed HSDLA, unless I am completely wrong! Personally, after hearing how CC works at the Challenge level, if I understand it correctly, is a little unusual. They teach each  subject for 4 minutes and cycle through those subjects a few times. Is this accurate? I have a K-12 teaching background and taught for a few years and found this method of instruction interesting, not bad, just interesting. If this way of teaching/learning is suppose to be challenging and high level, then why isn't it incorporated into other curricula? I think my ego is getting bruised when talking with her. It is making me question what I'm doing...

What?
I don not understand.  HSLDA is simply a legal assist, nobody cares about it outside of HSLDA and their members.

There is a very long thread here in the GE part of the board (scroll through pages until you find it) all about Classical Conversations.  Having seen the written plan in Ms. Bortins' book, I'm not impressed in the least with what they offer and what they consider a full day's work at home in younger grades.

• Like 6

16 minutes ago, bfw0729 said: