Menu

Praxis Tests - Elem Ed

Tammi K

Has anyone taken this?  I'm trying to re-vamp my certification that expired 30 years ago.  I know it's not just content but contains a lot of teacher lingo which I'm sure has changed in 30 years.  I would love to hear from anyone who as done it recently.

I just took it in February to add a K-6 certification to my license. I found a link online for a guy who runs tutoring sessions. He had a list of the 100 most common phrases/definitions to know. I made notecards of those for all three tests. He also had videos of released math problems and showed how to work them. I also took practice tests I found online for each of the tests. I studied for 2-3 weeks prior to the test. 

I did not have to take the test to get my certification in my original licensure area current. After taking the specified numbers of CEUs and submitting the paper work to our Department of Public Education (and paying them!), my original license was reinstated. 

17 minutes ago, AppleGreen said:

I found a link online for a guy who runs tutoring sessions. He had a list of the 100 most common phrases/definitions to know.

Can you share the name?  Or just message me?  Thanks.  

This all came about really suddenly and I'm rushing to get everything finished and submitted before the big summer crunch hits the state education dept. Yuck.

I took it last week and totally aced it!  I got a perfect score on the science one.  The English one was the only one with any teacher lingo on it, and that was only a few questions.  One was about stages of spelling development, and there were a couple questions about teaching reading, but it was all pretty easy.  I took it cold with no preparation and got a 198 out of 200 in English and social studies, 200 on science, and 192 on math.  

• Like 3