Menu

DNA, The Truth Will Always Come Out!

StartingOver

If you are thinking of doing DNA, PLEASE be warned that you may not get the results you want but you will get the truth.

I have been working on the genealogy of my family for over 30 years. I started testing family last year to verify and broke through some real tough brick walls. Happily I made it through 2 long term brick walls. But got many surprises along the way. A sister who was put up for adoption by her mom that my dad never knew about was the first happy finding. My husband's father isn't his father, we are still working on solving this one. My ex husband's father isn't his father. My ex mother in laws father isn't her father. I have found the birth family of my 1st cousin who was adopted into my family. I found my 1st cousin's son he gave up in the 50's. I am waiting on the tests of 2 other 1st cousins to figure out which of my uncles is their father one of which was adopted from Vietnam. I am also working on trying to find answers for others, friends of friends. It isn't easy,

I can't always find answers, but so far the truth has been so much better than the lies and being able to use DNA to get a medical history has been amazing to some of these folks with mysterious symptoms no one can explain.

• Like 10

That is a lot of surprises for one family.  I think now that DNA testing is now so readily available that more people will stop trying to lie about a child's parentage. Back when my mom was born in 1945 there was no way to prove or disprove it.  My grandmother kept the secret her entire life---in fact it was not discovered for about 15 years after my grandmother died.  If any of her siblings knew it they never shared it with their children.