Menu

Horizons or CLE

RoseS8

I only tried Horizons Math for Kindergarten but gave up after half a year because I couldn’t figure out how to teach the lessons. I know and love math but didn’t know how to teach it. We switched to Abeka for the rest of Kindergarten math and it drove me crazy because it was too detailed in its lessons and seemed geared to the classroom and I did not know what I could leave out. Enter CLE Math for first grade and we love it. We are halfway through 3rd grade now. My daughter mostly reads the lessons herself and does the work but I’m right there and can help at any point. Before she was reading well and I was teaching the lessons, it was easy to follow and do. I love the progression so far.

I am a Horizons fan.  I have been using Horizons for over 20 yrs and have had 7 kids go through the 6th grade book. My rising 3rd grader will be using the 4th and 5th grade books next yr.  (She moves through math quickly and has been doing multiple lessons per day.)  I have been very happy with where my kids skills have been at the end of the 6th grade texts.  They have been solidly prepared for high school math.

I have never had a problem teaching the texts.  I sit with my younger kids while they do math, and we discuss math concepts while they are working.  I don't use the TM's for anything other than grading in 3rd up.  I am a natural teacher, so for me what to do seems obvious.  If you need script type teaching instruction, it will not be a good fit.

• Like 3