Menu

5 th grade geography

Smiles

My son has requested to learn American history and learn all the countries of the world! How would you teach all the countries of the world? He knows more than I did at his age! He also said he would like to learn about each country! I'm just not sure how to go about this. I'm not good at coming up with my own thing, I need help and a plan. This is the second year he has requested this so I'm going to try harder to do this for him. He likes history and geography! I thought about doing geography over the summer because my plan is to do Sonlight core D in this coming fall. That could change!

My favorite way of doing it is using Visualize World Geography but it is pretty expensive. It can be used across all grades and for multiple years so there is that.

We also like the Draw series (Draw Africa, Draw Europe etc). Starting continent by continent is a bit more doable. We focus on 2 to 3 countries per week, draw them and read about them. We used blank maps from.a Simply Charlotte Mason resource to practice writing the countries we knew each week. We also play 10 Days in... games to learn them as well but I believe those games are not made any more unfortunately. 

It is something that can be done. My kids love geography and have the same goal as your son. In 1.5 school years they have learned all of Africa and North America. Next year we are focusing on Europe. So we are moving at a slower pace but at 5th grade he could probably do it if motivated ?

• Like 3

Trail Guide to World Geography is a 1-year program that could get you started, and give you time to figure out how to go deeper or how to DIY (Do It Yourself) to fit with your DS's goals.