Jump to content

Menu

Books like Anne of Green Gables


Recommended Posts

What other books are like Anne of Green Gables?

 

1. Sweet, honoring to parents (Anne and Diana actually STAY APART from each other for a very long time when Diana's parents require it, even though they don't agree. These days, books would have had them sneaking around to see each other and approval)

2. Covering a longish period of time so you see the kids grow up and change over the book instead of having to have everything happen in a really short period of time.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Is this for a young child to read, or a teen? A Tree Grows in Brooklyn comes to mind, but there is a failed abduction by a pervert in it, and towards the end the girl Francie is grown and almost has sex with a soldier leaving for WWI. Tree takes Francie from age 11 to older teen a hundred years ago. I love this book!

Edited by JFSinIL
  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites

The Marjorie Dean books (starts in high school, goes through college - and if you like these then the Grace Harlowe series, both on Project Gutenberg)

Cheaper By The Dozen/Belles On Their Toes

Five Little Peppers series

The other L.M. Montgomery book series: Pat, Emily of New Moon

Rebecca Of Sunnybrook Farm (and the sequel)

 

 

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Louisa May Alcott's Eight Cousins and follow up Rose in Bloom have similar moral vibes and follow one person as a girl and later as a mother.  I loved them so much as a child it wasn't until after college that I understood most critics find morals in writing to be a bad thing.  I haven't read them since I was a child, so you might want to police them for matter that is no longer appropriate.  I don't remember racism, etc, but it could be there.

  • Like 3
Link to post
Share on other sites

I haven't read them in years, but I remember a very sweet and wholesome vibe about the Betsy-Tacy books, by Maud Hart Lovelace.  They begin at about age 5 and go through to at least late teens, if I recall.  They reminded me a lot of the LH and Anne books, set in a slightly different era in Minnesota.

 

 

  • Like 5
Link to post
Share on other sites

I haven't read them in years, but I remember a very sweet and wholesome vibe about the Betsy-Tacy books, by Maud Hart Lovelace.  They begin at about age 5 and go through to at least late teens, if I recall.  They reminded me a lot of the LH and Anne books, set in a slightly different era in Minnesota.

 

Yes!  I couldn't remember the name of that series but it does have a very similar vibe.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Is this for a young child to read, or a teen? A Tree Grows in Brooklyn comes to mind, but there is a failed abduction by a pervert in it, and towards the end the girl Francie is grown and almost has sex with a soldier leaving for WWI. Tree takes Francie from age 11 to older teen a hundred years ago. I love this book!

 

I am sharing Anne of Green Gables with my kids now and they are enjoying it. But stuff not appropriate for them I can read on my own and just not share :)

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

I haven't read them in years, but I remember a very sweet and wholesome vibe about the Betsy-Tacy books, by Maud Hart Lovelace.  They begin at about age 5 and go through to at least late teens, if I recall.  They reminded me a lot of the LH and Anne books, set in a slightly different era in Minnesota.

 

OOOH I loved the Betsy-Tacy books as a kid. I'd forgotten about those!

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

This series only addresses the honoring to parents part (and good morals in general), but The Trixie Belden series is fantastic. The language isn't as beautiful, but it does utilize a decent vocabulary with good words, introduces facts about wildlife and other things and is just GOOD and moral. Lots about friendship, duty to family, the benefit of working hard even when it isn't easy, etc. Plus fun mysteries!

 

Now, I will say that I'd take the first aid advice given with a grain of salt, lol. Poor Trixie bonks her head and is knocked unconscious and no one does anything more than put some iodine on her cut and send her out to play...but otherwise, fantastic. 

 

Oh, and in the first book Trixie does keep a secret from her parents, but feels badly about it and is only doing it to protect someone vulnerable. She does eventually tell her parents. 

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

All-of-a-Kind Family.

 

The Elsie Dinsmore books were quite popular, oh, 20 years ago, although not *everyone* loved them.

 

I read Old-Fashioned Girl and other Alcott books when I was young and enjoyed them; however, I reread Eight Cousins recently and found it to just be preachy. Little action, lots of preachy, pages of preachy. Little Women was much better than those. Little Men and Jo's Boys were preachier.

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites

LM Montgomery wrote a lot of books.

 

Yes, there are a lot more books with Anne, as well as many other books with similar themes. Emily of New Moon is a 3-book series. Chronicles of Avonlea are a series of short stories, and some of the main characters are boys, which is a nice variation to the all-girl theme of a lot of her books.

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

The Elsie Dinsmore books were quite popular, oh, 20 years ago, although not *everyone* loved them.

 

 

 

Just a word on the Elsie Dinsmore books - the originals are quite abusive to the little girl.  I was shocked at the lengths the author went to so she could prove the girl's unwavering Christianity and submission.  The ones that were reprinted have some of that behavior removed, but there are other unsavory elements to the stories like portraying slavery as good, weird marriages to gentlemen 20 years older, and a lack of originality in names. By the time you get to the next gen children, they're all named after their parents, and then their grandparents.  The books are fantastic for grooming young girls in the mindset that authoritarian patriarchy is the right and only solution for families, so they are popular in various groups.  But I would definitely pre-read them if you're going to hand them to your kids.

  • Like 9
Link to post
Share on other sites

I love old-fashioned books and I am a committed Christian. I absolutely loathed the Elsie Dinsmore books - abusive, manipulative, lousy writing and repetitive plots. Just terrible.

 

Anne

  • Like 4
Link to post
Share on other sites

I love old-fashioned books and I am a committed Christian. I absolutely loathed the Elsie Dinsmore books - abusive, manipulative, lousy writing and repetitive plots. Just terrible.

 

Anne

 

A few years ago when I was reading the series for myself I found this hilarious blog detailing the books.  The bottom of this page has the first post: "Elsie Dinsmore Spreads Her Wretched Tentacles".  https://featherbless.dreamwidth.org/tag/we%27re+reading+elsie+dinsmore%21

 

I laughed my rear end off.  The books had been suggested over and over in my circles as things for kids to read and I was looking forward to reading them when I found them on Project Gutenberg.  It quickly became one long tale of horror. :lol: But NOBODY I knew shared my POV until I saw that blog! (and yeah, I read most of them until I lost track of who the stories were about- Elsie I, Elsie II, Rose I, Rose II...

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

We (ds and I) read through the Viking Quest Series from Lois Walfrid Johnson when he was younger (probably 9-11). Its a good series for all ages, except maybe really young kids. I loaned the set to a friend who had a boy around 10 and he loved them and then loaned them to his sister, a senior in high school and she devoured them. Anyway, just saying that they’re a good series for different ages, genders.

 

Here’s a link to book one... I think there are five in the series.

https://www.amazon.com/Raiders-Viking-Quest-Walfrid-Johnson/dp/0802431127/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1521657951&sr=8-1&keywords=viking+quest+book+series&dpID=51T907iWDSL&preST=_SY291_BO1,204,203,200_QL40_&dpSrc=srch

 

ETA: the characters are Christian. I don’t remember if you wanted that or not, so I wanted to give a heads-up.

Edited by onelittlemonkey
  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

LM Montgomery wrote a lot of books.

 

 

Yes, she was a prolific author.

She wrote Chronicles from Avonlea which have some familiar characters and some new ones.

 

The Trixie Belden series came to mind but it's usually centered around some kind of mystery. Not sure if this is what you are looking for.

Malory Towers?

The Famous Five, also by Enid Blyton.

Emily of New Moon

Edited by Liz CA
  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh, I loved these as a kid, too!

 

I know Pollyanna and Heidi both had sequels, but I'm not sure how long they followed the girls in their lives.

I love the 3rd Heidi book. It is very Christian and concerns a troubled little girl who comes to live with Heidi and Peter. I dearly dearly love the Heidi books.

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites

I love the 3rd Heidi book. It is very Christian and concerns a troubled little girl who comes to live with Heidi and Peter. I dearly dearly love the Heidi books.

 

We did Heidi as a read-aloud but i had no idea there was a 2nd and 3rd book!

Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh, what about the Grandma’s Attic books?

 

These are some of my all-time favorites. Every few years, I read them aloud, and we all enjoy them like it's the first time we're hearing the stories!

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Not so old fashioned but definitely a focus on character - the incorrigible children of Ashton Place. Warning for anyone concerned it does feature magic and a curse/werewolf of a kind but not in an overly magic way if that makes sense. It has a very down to earth feel.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...