Menu

What's with the ads?

Lisa R.

New Zealand trip - Advice needed/I'm nervous

I'd love some advice from those who live in NZ and those who've traveled there.

My college ds found a great airfare from US to NZ in June. (Thank you Scott's Cheap Flights!) I don't make rash or rushed decision ever...and then I did. He told me it was a great airfare that wouldn't last and I needed to decide now! So I did. 

Now I'm feeling anxious. I LOVE to travel. This kid is super fun and loves to travel too. 

We'd be arriving on a Saturday and leaving the following Saturday in June flying direct LA to Auckland. 

How do we get around? I've read car travel is the best way but I'm nervous about driving on the other side of the road. I'm a good driver and drive lots of miles in high traffic suburbs and city. DS is still under 21 years old so I'm sure he can't rent a car. Besides, it might make me more nervous if he drives...

Can I get a bus pass that drops off and picks up most places we'd like to go?

With the 12 hour time difference, will we be able to make the most of these 7 days? 

While both of us love to travel, we are both cursed with motion sickness. I'm wondering if the ferry between the north and south islands will make us sick. Is there a better option? In high school I took the hovercraft between England and Paris and it was among my worst motion sickness travel experiences ever. I am a front seat only car passenger/don't read in the car or on planes/can't do a sailboat kind-of-girl. 

So feel free to tell me to knock it off. I want to enjoy this spontaneous decision I made. I guess the travel around the country by car and motion sickness with other forms of travel are my concerns. 

Any tips or advice?