Menu

What's with the ads?

Barb_

Dinner in a Box service

I keep tossing trial coupons for hello fresh, but I just had the thought that maybe I want to try a dinner in a box service. For years I cooked big meals that everyone loved--I'm a good cook and food is definitely one of my love languages. My best memories I have of my somewhat tempest-tossed childhood revolve around food. But now three of my kids have moved out, my husband works out of state, and the two oldest left at home have gone vegetarian. Meh, vegetarian is ok but I can't get motivated to cook or that way more than once a week or so. I think a box for two people might work to feed my kids and myself pretty well because chances are, one or the other isn't going to like what is served. Food has gotten too blinking complicated.

So who has tried the different boxes? Any recommendations? What about portion sizes? We aren't big eaters. Any vegan/vegetarian options as an alternative? I'm just feeling so sick of food and so uninspired. I've lost five pounds and notice my son is looking a little skinny too because we're all bored of beans and pasta.

We did Home Chef for awhile and every meal was absolutely delicious.  I was really happy with it but the price was a bit high and I've since gone vegetarian.  I did have an issue with the amount of waste generated by it.

• Like 1

I used Blue Apron, Hello Fresh, and one other one I cannot remember right now.  Some have vegetarian options.

Nearly all the recipes were delicious.

All were doable; some a bit more complicated than others, but nothing crazy.

It was great to not have to think about what to make for dinner.

The ingredients were of good quality, but I prefer to buy organic/locally grown

The amount of packaging was incredibly wasteful and that's what I hated about it.

Edited by jen3kids
  • Like 1