Menu

Friggin', Flippin', Frickin', etc....

DawnM

I don't use these and don't like them, because in my head the "real" F word is said.

However, when did you start hearing these used in place of the "real F word?"

I keep hearing them in TV shows that are meant to take place back in the 80s or so and I could swear we didn't use or hear them back then.   But maybe it is just me?

• Like 2

Lots of substitutions when I was a teen in the 80’s. I still say them. I say “freakin†a lot. Also substitutes for Sh—. Sugar, shoot, sheista.

It might be regionally influenced as well. I didn't hear them until I was a college student in CA in 2000. But I went to a private school in another state that banned all euphemisms, such as "shoot" and "dang." But even amongst the public school kids I played sports with and took a couple classes with, I never heard them. When I taught jr. high at a private school in CA in 2008, many of my students used them frequently, but I didn't allow it in my classroom.

Most "soft cuss words" are substitutes.  Dang, gosh, flippin', shoot, heck....  

If I am going to explode, I prefer to at least control myself to use the substitutes.  It is at least a modicum of control on my part, and it seems less pollution-inducing for those around me. 

But what I really need and want to do is to become a person who can keep inner stillness and not one who is explosive.  

I heard them from my mother and my granny when I was a small child.  (I am 51.)

My kids insist that frickin is a cuss word, so I say freaka frocka or similar.  They still count those against me, but what's a cussing mom to do .....

My very religious mom friend (also in her 50s) used flippin' in a text to me regarding something the school did to us.  So I'm guessing it's not considered cursing at her house ....

Edited by SKL

Most "soft cuss words" are substitutes. Dang, gosh, flippin', shoot, heck....