Menu

Help me tweak my daily schedule, please :-)

Kidlit

Hello, everyone--

This is my first year to really feel the crunch of schooling three children at different levels (and with the ever-present baby/toddler/preschooler tagging along).  Here's the rundown of ages and materials:

13 yo girl, grade 8:  BYL world geography, AOPS Algebra I, Power in Your Hands composition, Daily Grammar Practice, physical science class taught by dad  nights/weekends, Bible study and speech class at co-op

11 yo girl, grade 6:  BYL world geography, Singapore math, Latin for Children, Bravewriter-ish writing assignments from mom, Bible study at co-op, physical science class taught by dad nights/weekends

The girls and I also have a geography/history related read-aloud and we are also working on a Greek and Latin roots interactive notebook together.  

7 yo boy, grade 2:  BFB early US History, FLL, RS Math, HWOT, copywork/narration/dictation, mom-made human body study, read-aloud

We also have a circle time right after lunch that includes Bible, memory work, hymn study, composer study, and art study.

4 yo boy:  mostly just playing and keeping me hopping :-)

Our days go something like this:

9-11:30:  I focus on working with my 7 yo.  We do all of his work by 11:30 most days.  It could probably be shorter, but that's how long it takes us.  It feels like the right amount of work.

11:30-12:00--Latin or math with the 11 yo

12:00-1:30 ish:  lunch and circle time (includes everyone), read-aloud for the 7 yo

1:30-4:00 (or later):  Checking work with the big girls, read-aloud with them, and Greek/Latin roots study.  Unfortunately, the 13 yo often gets the leftovers of the day as she often comes in very last because the 11 yo swims on a swimteam and has to leave for practice by 4:00.