Menu

EMT questions

Daria

DS18's long term plan is to go to school to become a nurse.  He's thinking he might like to volunteer with our local volunteer fire department to become an EMT as an interim step, and a way to see if he's suited for the medical field.  However, I have 2 questions.

1) Can you be an EMT if you don't have a driver's license?

and 

2) How often do EMT's get called to house fires, or other situations with a lot of smoke?  He's got asthma, and smoke is a trigger for him, although it's well controlled and he's slow to react.  

• Like 1

I'm sure other posters will have more info for you on EMTs. I'm a nurse and have worked in many different settings. I don't think being an EMT would necessarily tell you if you are suited for the medical field. There are so many settings that are very different from emergency medicine. Good luck to your ds.

• Like 8

You can become an EMT without a driver's license. Getting a job as an EMT without a driver's license is going to be an issue. From where I live the first job an EMT might get is medical transport and then move up from there. Where I am, you need to be a paramedic to get an ambulance job. Also where I am an EMT would not often be near fire, but I'm not sure about your son's situation since he would be volunteering with a fire department it might be different.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 2

20 year medic here.

1) Functionally, probably not. Sitting for the state/national exam isn't the issue. Depending on how the VFD is organized/run he may have to take his turn driving the squad or, if his department also transports patients in an ambulance, drive the ambulance. He probably won't drive the fire truck right off as "driver" is actually a specific position.