Menu

Would you tutor students who use FLVS courses?

I have recently been solicited to help two 8th grade students with their FLVS courses. I'm not a huge proponent of FLVS and am approaching this quite cautiously. I've sent a list of questions to the parents to see what their specific expectations are, both from the students, and me.

Does anyone have experience with a similar situation?

I have not tutored a student taking an FLVS course specifically, but I have tutored one taking an online course where the instruction is all online.  The student was using Derek Owens' Algebra I course (which is fabulous, IMO), but he just wasn't getting it.  I was having to reteach every lesson, but because the lessons were all online, I had to sit through all of the videos in order to know what I was supposed to be teaching (I don't like just coaching kids on how to do individual homework problems because I don't think that really helps them in the long run).  It became quickly apparent that that wasn't a good use of anyone's time (or money).  So the student ended up withdrawing from the DO course, and I just taught him myself.

I guess my point here is that it can be extremely time consuming to find the information in an online course that you need in order to tutor effectively. 

• Like 2