Menu

How do I start in math competitions?

Hi Everyone,

I have two children in 4th and 5th grades (ages 9 and 10).  (Both using and loving Singapore 5a and 5b this year.)    They both do well in math, but I wouldn't call them especially gifted.   They are both typical kids who happen to enjoy problem-solving, math, and a friendly competition.  

SO---I would love to get them started in math competitions.   I think they both might like the challenge, and it would give them a great goal to work towards this year (or next.)    We don't have any math teams or clubs in my area that we can find.  (We live in the Columbus, Ohio area btw in case you know of something.)   I wouldn't mind organizing something myself.  I may not be the BEST or most qualified person to coach a group.  But I am a living, breathing person who is at least willing to try.  (Before kids I was an electrical engineer...so I am not math phobic.  I just often get stumped on how to solve these tougher problems myself!)

My questions are:

1)  What math competitions would my kids be eligible for?  Are there any that are more fun than others?

2)   Could we / Should we compete solo?   Do kids enjoy a team more?  If so, how do you find members?   

3)  Any advice on specific resources to prep for these competitions?

Some old threads with information

Competition Math http://forums.welltrainedmind.com/topic/552618-competition-math/

Starting a MOEMS team? http://forums.welltrainedmind.com/topic/602697-starting-a-moems-team/

Tell me everything about having a MathCounts Team http://forums.welltrainedmind.com/topic/510247-mathcounts-contest-team-prep/

Taking AMC as a homeschooler http://forums.welltrainedmind.com/topic/563800-taking-amc-as-a-homeschooler/

Continental Math League (also other subjects)-deadline Oct 14 http://forums.welltrainedmind.com/topic/527462-continental-math-league-also-other-subjects-deadline-oct-14/

ETA: