Menu

Evaluate my math curriculum plan!

shan74

Help! I'm new to homeschool and am putting together our own curricula and skipping the online packaged school. Can you help me evaluate my plan for 2nd grade math (fast learner, type A kid, very focused and driven). I need zero prep work, and we want Common Core so we can roll back into school if this doesn't work out.

Singapore Math as our spine.
supplement with Everyday Math (Common core).
Plus an online program for when I need to keep him busy. We’ve narrowed that down to MobyMax or GreatMinds with Zearn.
We will be doing the MAP tests twice a year to make sure we’re on target.

Is 30-60 minutes/day enough? Any other suggestions for online programs are very welcome, I think my son would prefer to do most of his learning online, and I don't have time to prep.

THANK YOU!

30-60 minutes is plenty each day.  I would probably not supplement Singapore with EM.  Personal preference, but juggling two complete curricula is not a fun task, and it will be more prep than you want.  There is very little that you might miss.  A better plan might be to make a checklist of CC skills, and mark them off as you go through Singapore. Keep an eye on it quarterly.  Anything you haven't hit by the end of the year can easily be done with an online skills game, either through Internet 4 Classrooms (list of skills games links by grade) or Prodigy (online free math practice game that you can align with CC)

• Like 2

I would avoid Everyday Math. It's not designed to deliver the basics because it's based on pseudoscientific ed school theories about traditional algorithms etc being bad for kids. I don't even understand how it got labeled as "Common Core" as it predates Common Core and is largely based on a rejection of the traditional scope and sequence, which Common Core largely follows. My child's experience with it in public school was very negative.