Menu

Grammar curriculum without Latinate Terminology/diagramming?

Writerdaddy

Hi there,

I'm wondering if there is such a beast for an early middle school child (she could safely use grade 6-8):

a grammar curriculum that can be done independently for the most part, but where the emphasis is not on learning all the terminology, nor on sentence diagramming.

I have a naturally grammar-challenged daughter taught mostly in public school who is a brilliant writer, but gets a ribbing from friends about her grammar.

I would like to help her now although I'm certain it will straighten itself out in time, but don't believe we have time now nor energy from her for the tedium of latinate terms (and although I'm a professional writer I don't know most of them and don't want to learn them either!).

Is there such a beast? I imagine it would mean cleverly designed worksheets if it's going to be largely independent.

I looked at sample pages of Growing with Grammar but saw a lot of emphasis on identifying the latinate terms.

thanks for your ideas I appreciate it so much!

Do you want her to learn about how sentences are structured, or are you mostly concerned about her usage (subject/verb agreement, for example)?

But I have to say that I don't understand how you would teach grammar (the sentence structure variety) without simultaneously teaching the vocabulary of grammar.  The vocabulary is important because it allows you to talk about the topic at hand.  It would be like trying to teach math without teaching math vocabulary.  Drilling the vocabulary is not necessary, but the student needs to have a working knowledge of, for example, the difference between phrases and clauses, nouns and verbs, and what a modifier is.