Menu

Does anyone have experience using Sonlight 600 for AP literature?  How did it go?

Also, I'd like to submit a syllabus to the CB incorporating core 600. Has anyone done this? Willing to share? Would be grateful as it may be something I could gently modify but also it would save valuable summer time. I know I love the core - just takes time to correlate to CB criteria. ANd getting access to the teacher community is of great value.

I have a degree in English and I have taught AP Lit with success to my daughter as well as to other students.

I am confused. The 600 level is a conglomeration of elective courses?

If you are referring to Brit Lit 630--That course does include a nice variety of excellent British literature. The only two I would quibble with are Peter Pan and the Alice books (both beautifully written children's literature but not high school AP lit). My concerns about this course are:

--Focusing on Brit lit only will not adequately prepare the student for the test. You want a broad variety of authors, genres, and eras.

--The vocab book is fine but not specifically useful for the AP.

--I have not used this particular Sonlight level. However, I have not been impressed with their Language Arts programs in the past. For AP lit, your student needs to really nail literature analysis, so I would veer towards a more beefy alternative for instruction in that style of writing.

--I would definitely add the book Essential Literary Terms (Norton) to an AP Lit course.

Edited by Harriet Vane
  • Like 1

I think it really depends on the student and the amount they read/write outside of a required class setting.