Menu

Free Play or Flashcards? NYT preschool article

My understanding is that academic preschool leaves kids ahead for three years, after which they fall behind. The study sited doesn't follow the kids long enough to refute that finding. I'm on my phone now but I will post a link to that study later.

Emily

As a former preschool teacher, my first thought was "why the heck is the preschool teacher wearing skinny high heels"???

I have one going to part time 3 day a week, morning prechool in the fall. All play-based. The last play based preschool in our area. The rest are now run by the school districts & are free, but all day & academic.

We'll do the preschool academic stuff at home together, before she starts K the following year.

They are expected to know more in K than they used to be.

Mixed feelings.  

"Academic pre-school" sounds like a sort of unfair label when the kids are still getting large chunks of play time and craft time.  

I appreciated this line from the end of the article:

“I see it as emulating good parenting,â€

In a learning-rich home environment, a young child can identify a square or a triangle- certainly my 2.5 year old knows square, triangle, circle, moon (crescent), star, heart... all because I just point to them in a book or out walking around.  Does this mean I'm doing "academics" with my toddler?  Of course not.  But a pre-school teacher can't be quite as spontaneous in learning opportunities as a mom can be.  So she/he need to artificially create learning moments for the class so that children who are not in a rich learning environment home can be brought up to where most pre-schoolers are.  

I don't think pointing out things like shapes and letters and numbers to a pre-schooler is going to impact their happiness, assuming they ARE getting a majority of free time each day and assuming they are not being stressed out by testing and performance evaluations.