Menu

tips for organizing a co-op

Hi, I would like to start a co-op for kindergarten and preschoolers. My kids are 5, 3 and 1. I am new to homeschooling so I know it's kind of crazy for me to lead a co-op but I really want to be involved in one and haven't found what I am looking for. It will most likely be meeting in my home and younger siblings will be coming as well. My vision is to meet two mornings a week and allow each mom (if interested) to teach or lead a different activity based on her interests and gifts. We would divide up throughout the house with kindergarteners learning in one area, preschoolers learning in another and babies/toddler being babysat in another area while moms rotated teaching/babysitting. Has anyone done something like this?

Also, is there a polite way to screen families?

We have been in two different co-ops like that. My kids are heading into 8th grade and the one we started in kindy is still together, though the exact families has varied somewhat over the years.