Menu

What's with the ads?

Sign in to follow this  
parent

Getting my Game Plan. Need help with Latin, Literature, Writing, Spanish. Long.

I have 3 kids, all strong personalities.  A 7 year old who is a young 3rd grader this year, a 5 year old who is an old kindergartener this year, and a very active 2.5 year old who is very disruptive during schooltime.  My 5 and 7 year olds are only 2 years and a few months apart but are 4 grade levels apart because they're each on the other side of the Sept 1 deadline for school.  I am an engineer who didn't plan to homeschool but was not happy with the available school choices and I felt my daughter was too young (just turning 5) to start kindergarten.  I wish she was in 2nd grade instead of 1st.  Even though she does well with her schoolwork, I feel like she's doing too much for her age and that her peer group is too old for her when in activities.  I grew up in private Christian school which was nearly exclusively Abeka with upper level Saxon math, and I had 2 years of correspondence Latin in highschool, and there was a lot of poetry memorization and Scripture verse memorization throughout K-12.  I was nearly always bored in school, and I thought history was especial drudgery, but I think it was the presentation from Abeka.   My children are part of a public correspondence school so we can get funding to cover some of our expenses if the curriculum is secular.

So our curriculum...  Both kids do Suzuki music, my daughter in violin for 4 years, and my son on cello for 2 years.  Both kids take Spanish lessons weekly, and I review lesson content at home when I have time, and read them Spanish books and try to make at least half of our limited TV time in Spanish.  I don't have a Spanish curriculum, and while I don't want them to be writing in Spanish yet, I would like a more structured plan.