Menu

Teens & Time Management...Experienced Homeschoolers!

Obviously, this can be the most frustrating time of the year for high school (AP's, SATs, trying to finish whatever we're behind on), a time in which we frantically reassess how we'll do it better next year... hence the timing of this question. At least in my case, since this is my first year homeschooling high school. (He was homeschooled in elementary using WTM, went to school until high school, and now he and his younger siblings are all homeschooling). We're really enjoying it but I am really struggling to figure out how to teach my high schooler better time management while fostering independence. Some methods are working and some...well aren't. What worked and what didn't? How do you get them to work for longer periods of time? And to finish their responsibilities with minimal distractions (especially when using the computer to homeschool)? Do you have a minimum block of time they have to work at a time before taking breaks? And a minimum amount of time to homeschool in a day? Anything else I'm missing?

• Like 1

We've homeschooled all the way through from preschool to now (oldest is finishing up Junior year).  I've had her working off of a list since junior high and building up a routine of getting work done. She learned early on that once her schoolwork is done that her time is pretty much her own to work on things that she wants to learn about or do (she's managing 5 or 6 different tumblr blogs right now).

Currently I have her bullet journalling. I put her assignments for the month on her monthly page and she checks them off as she finishes it. A lot of time she works ahead in case we have days where we have other obligations. I list page numbers for book work and draw circles for her to fill in for computer work. On her own she makes daily lists of things that she wants to accomplish outside of schoolwork including chores, reading and different projects that she is working on.