Menu

Advanced Biology or A&P Or Chemistry - thoughts and comments needed before planning

Dd15-9th is wrapping a pretty successful year using Miller Levine Biology with lots of supplementary videos and lectures. We did all the chapters with the exception of the final chapters on human body. We left those chapters out primarily because of time. I always thought I could take those chapters and later supplement into .5 credit for A&P. I had planned on Chemistry for this coming school year. Dd is really enjoying the ML book and surprised me this week with the request to finish the book. She has truly had such a light bulb moment with bio this year. So, do I go ahead and supplement/flesh out an A&P course (book/video reqs welcome!) and at the same time do a "health" class (required for college) at another .5 credits? OR take on an "Advanced Biology" Course (not advanced placed) and dive deeper in. (I have a rusty science degree myself. And would love to take some time on microbiology) OR move on with Chemistry, which I think she will love as well.

Any thoughts or comments are welcome. ALL book/video etc reqs are cherished!!!!

Most advanced biology requires chemistry, so I'd do a solid chemistry course prior to any college-level biology program.

That doesn't mean she couldn't take A&P before that, if she desired. I'm looking at Human Physiology by Stuart Fox, with the Physio Ex9 Lab simulations, and probably an anatomy coloring book for my daughter and my younger son (in 3-4 years).

• Like 1

We are doing the last chapters of M-L now, after doing the rest of the book. My student will receive one credit for biology.

We may well do Anatomy and Physiology later, but I will use an anatomy textbook. I do not think these last few chapters are adequate as the spine for an A and P course, YMMV, but I don't think they are nearly detailed enough. I was thinking of A and P as a full year credit, though, not 0.5.

• Like 1