Menu

There is no cure for a senior (citizen) who's a hoarder - is there?

creekland

My dad is a hoarder and reduce his hoard significantly to keep my mom happy. My in-laws are hoarders but they have a designated place and space for their hoards. My MIL hoards handbags while my FIL hoards ewaste (electronics odds and ends).

I do have relatives who started "hoarding" because of dementia. They didn't realized they already have many of the same item so they keep buying the same thing if no one is with them to remind them.

• Like 1

Not from the info I've read. (I'm not a professional, just have some interest in the subject as some extended family members may fit this profile.)

From what I've read in various things, it is often linked to disorders such as OCD or other ones. So, therapy to address the issues may be the best or most promising way to ensure lasting change. Maybe.

Cleaning out for them often doesn't work for various reasons, ranging from sending the person into severe emotional distress to causing them to 'dig in'/retaliate & hoard even more. Convincing them to do it is often fruitless as lasting change is a hard road to take, especially if it feels more forced/wanted from the outside.

ETA: Hoarding is listed as its own category, separate from OCD, in the DSM-5. Here's an overview (though I can't vouch for the veracity of the website). It does mention current testing of various pharmaceuticals as well as therapies as potential ways to treat the disorder.

Edited by Stacia
  • Like 4