Menu

I don't know where to start

Hello, I am new to this particular board, but not the forum.

My ds is almost 9 and he just struggles to learn anything. We are currently out of the country, but I am trying to get a game plan together for when we get home this summer.

Last summer I had him tested at a university for learning disabilities. He scored in the 16-25th percentile in reading, writing, and math. The tester said that was "borderline for disability" and suggested following up this summer. His IQ was 100, but he didn't take a full IQ test. He also did a computer test and the connors questionnaire for ADHD and the tester recommended follow up with his pediatrician. So, I did follow up and the pediatrician said he met the criteria for ADHD. He said we could start medicine and he also gave me the name of someone who does behavior therapy for ADHD. But, then we were leaving the country and I decided to wait until we got back. I was kind of hoping the change in environment would help (it did not).

He is taking taekwondo and violin here and the instructors have both made it clear that he doesn't act like German children of his age-as far as his ability to make progress. It has been really frustrating for me. Today at violin he couldn't even stand on both feet despite being corrected for it regularly.

As further background, this DS has always been behind. He was in first steps from age 10mos until 2.5 years. We moved to a new state and he didn't qualify there. He had speech and physical therapy. I really regret not continuing privately, but he really was pretty much age appropriate at that point.