Menu

Online Algebra 2 Classes

This would be for my rising 10th grader.  I had been planning on putting him in a local co-op for this next year, because a friend of mine teaches the course.  She uses Math-U-See, and honestly I was a bit leery because I'm pretty positive this child will be going into computer engineering, and math is one of his strong areas. After reading some threads on here, though, I felt like it would do the job, and that it would be worth it to have a live teacher.  He has been doing math with another friend, but she's just been overwhelmed and doesn't want to teach it next year because of some other classes she'll be teaching.  I totally get that--I have a degree in math myself, but I also am totally overwhelmed and don't want to teach it, lol.  (I teach high school and junior high science classes instead, since I also have a biology degree.)

So now I'm looking at online classes.  I will say this is not one of my more motivated kids, so I am afraid that he won't engage in an online class.  He is taking English at Potters this year.  He's doing fine, but he doesn't enjoy it.  Is there an algebra 2 online class out there that has an engaging teacher, and even a somewhat engaging format??  

Hi Claire,

There are so many good options. I can highly recommend Wilson Hill Academy. Derek Owens is another great option as well. We've taken classes from both. Our son started with WHA taking Geometry, then on to Algebra 2. He is now taking Pre-Calculus and signed up for AP Calculus in the Fall. It has been one the best decisions we've made for him. He is also STEM directed and very interested in Computer Science.