Menu

Youth Hostels in the US (in general, but also WA DC, NYC in particular)

marbel

For a while now I've wanted to put my kids on the train to WA DC for the day.   It's been a while since we all went to DC and I'd like them to experience/practice using public transportation.  

Lately I've added in the idea of having them stay overnight in a  youth hostel.  

I've had limited experience with hosteling.  (Like, one in the US at a national park, and one in Europe while on a group walking tour, both as an adult.)  I've looked around online a bit and see there are hostels in cities in the US.  The impression I've gotten so far (with limited research) is that they are not really all that cheap compared to hotels, considering you're sharing room and bath with strangers. But maybe cheap for the areas they are in.

Anyway, has anyone got any experience, wisdom, knowledge to share with me?  Safety, cleanliness, bedbugs are all concerns I have.

My kids as a pair are well-suited to this sort of adventure.  My older is cautious and always aware of his surroundings.  But he is the one with slow processing speed and gets overwhelmed looking at things like train schedules - particularly if it has to be done quickly - and would have a hard time figuring out which train to take and when.   My younger is adventurous, quick, and would be able to figure all that stuff out easily.  They also get along well, and even better when parents aren't around.   They are both legal adults so parental permission for anything wouldn't be an issue.

Stories, experiences, cautions, recommendations?