Menu

Work from home jobs

purplejackmama

Do these REALLY exist? After searching for a couple of months, I feel like they are as elusive as the purple unicorn. I *thought* I had average skills and a decent resume but I'm getting no where. I joined all the pay sites and I lost my resume all.the.time. I have only worked part time for the past few years, but I have a degree and I'm not on drugs. So I considered myself an above average candidate. Wrong! The only 2 offers I've had were for a social media position that paid $40 a MONTH!! And a market analyst that required 30 days volunteering before the job started. Hmm.

Any advice? Suggestions? Commiseration?

• Like 2

A former neighbor makes decent money working as a travel booking agent from home. It was by word of mouth that she got the job. It is not regular income because it is based on commissions but she can just take the calls on her cellphone and do her work anywhere there is wifi. It is not a sales job though because people would call about Alaska cruise for example and she would just quote the customer different itineraries and make a booking if they want. So more of a customer service job.

• Like 1

I work from home, but it kind of just fell into my lap.  I work for a software development company in another country.  They recruited my mom years ago (they already knew her via work they had done together while she was working for someone else).  I started working for them a couple of years ago as a "helper" for her and it has evolved into duties of my own more recently.  Neither of us would be working from home for this company if we lived in their country of origin. The jobs are able to be done remotely and they really wanted my mother to work for them, so there you have it.