Menu

If You Had a Multilingual Education, Please Come Talk to Me About It.

mom2bee

I did not exactly have a multilingual education, but I studied two foreign languages in school and achieved fluency sufficient to live and work in a country where the language is spoken. Does that count?

I can't imagine it NOT counting!

Can you tell me how many years and what sort of methods were used in your various foriegn languages? How was language instruction scaffolded so that it eventually became "sufficient to live and work in a country where the language is spoken"?

How were the 4 language skills--listening, speaking, reading,  and writing worked on?

How was grammar developed?

Did you have a native instructor in each language, each year?

What sort of language support system was there for the languages that you studied? Did you take private lessons outside of school?

Did your family speak the languages that you studied or anything like that?

Did you guys use textbooks for languages? If so, can you recall what the formatting was like or how did your school FL-texts compare to modern US FL-textbooks? (Not sure if you've seen one or not.)

I can't imagine it NOT counting!

Can you tell me how many years and what sort of methods were used in your various foriegn languages? How was language instruction scaffolded so that it eventually became "sufficient to live and work in a country where the language is spoken"?

How were the 4 language skills--listening, speaking, reading,  and writing worked on?

How was grammar developed?

Did you have a native instructor in each language, each year?

What sort of language support system was there for the languages that you studied? Did you take private lessons outside of school?

Did your family speak the languages that you studied or anything like that?