Menu

I HATE DECIMALS!!!

MeganW

I liked decimals in my prior lifetime as a CPA.  I am good at decimals.  What I am not good at is teaching my daughter decimals.  I think the two of us have shed more tears over this one topic than anything else in my lifetime.  I am starting to think it just isn't possible for me to get this through to her.  Do you ever just want to quit this homeschooling gig?  I'm good with everything else, but decimals, ay ay ay!!!

• Like 1

Aww, hugs! I felt the same way with decimals and my dd. Then we got to long division. Then fractions. Now fractions and division and equivalent decimals. Boo-hoo-hoo. We've started to develop coping mechanisms, though, and she is mostly self-directed via MM.

Hang in there! Once you get to algebra there are a number of good out-sourcing options if you need them.

You might look at something like Key to Decimals combined with something like CTC math.  Key to Decimals steps you through from basic all the way up.  Having that focus has been great here.

https://www.christianbook.com/key-to-decimals-books-1-4/pd/68413 (you might be able to find this bundled with the answer key cheaper somewhere else)

CTC has also been a lifesaver here because DD can go backwards and forwards through all typical math subjects from Kinder through Calculus as needed.  Each level is organized in the same format until pre-algebra so it is very easy to find one particular subject and work through just that type of problem.  If she is struggling with a particular topic she gets on CTC, watches the explanation (having a different way of wording things and having a very visual presentation sometimes helps both of us get over a hump) then does as many practice problems as she needs.  The system changes the problems every time she does a lesson so she isn't repeating the exact same problems each time.

https://www.homeschoolbuyersco-op.org/ctc-math/