Menu

Any helpful tips for living without a working kitchen for a few months?

Deb in NZ

Dh is renovating our house.  He's been working on this for the past 7 years.  Today we demolished our old kitchen as both our boys will be moving away from home in the next month.  He assures me that we will be without for kitchen for weeks, not months, but as he is in the early stages of 2 bathrooms, an office, & the new master bedroom as well I'm realistically looking at no kitchen until possibly as late as mid-year.  Luckily it will be just dh & I for most of that time, so I won't be trying to feed a houseful.  I have a couple crockpots, a microwave, a toaster, & a single portable hob.  I work as a relief (substitute) teacher during the school year, so won't have heaps of time, so easy, simple meals are best.  At the moment our lounge is cluttered with most of the kitchen gear & we are washing dishes in the laundry tub.  The only thing that I left in the kitchen was inside of the lower cabinets as dh said they wouldn't be touched when he took down the walls & ceiling.  Well, the guys managed to tip over the cabinet with my dishes & casseroles in it  :glare: not quite the way I had planned to declutter.  I haven't dared to see what survived the crash yet.

TIA

• Like 1

What happened to your refrigerator?  Is it still there?

Personally, I think I would have DH drop everything else and focus on the kitchen (as long as you currently have one working bathroom).  Too many projects at once means nothing actually gets done in a timely fashion and a kitchen can drag on forever but is frequently the heart of the home.  Maybe with both of you working on it with whatever free time you have and setting a realistic deadline that you both agree you will stick to (barring unforeseen structural issues) it will be completed in weeks instead of months.