Menu

Does anyone else see this? Do you think it is cause for concern?

Bambam

I'm in an easy to homeschool state. 

On a couple of statewide lists, I'm seeing a large influx of folks who have just pulled their kids out of public school and now want to homeschool them. But, some plan to continue to work outside the home and just stick the children in front of some inexpensive online program. Or they will stay home with them, but again, they just want recommendations for some inexpensive online program.  Not books or curriculum - they just want online or computer based programs. 

And then I see requests for help from parents who has a 13 yo who still can't read or do multiplication. 

And requests from parents of 16 yo who haven't done any serious schooling, and hey, look, graduation is coming, what can I do to catch my child up so they can graduate. 

I've been homeschooling for 14 years now. When I started, we had yahoogroups and bulletin boards for communication. Now we have forums, Big Tent, FB, and more for communication.

So, is this influx that I see - is that cause for concern - people who really haven't researched homeschooling or are dedicated to it switching to homeschooling? Some have legitimate reasons (school is failing their child, bullying, etc), but others just seem to be pulling their children because they are upset with the school (not treating little Johnny right, too much work, etc).  Or has it always been there and we are only seeing it how because there is more communication? 

Will all these people approach the education of their children like it is a job/commitment to do the best by them? 

I'm afraid not everyone will step up and do a good job educating their children. And that makes me sad for the kids because they deserve better. And if they stick these children into public school, it is going to give homeschooling a bad rap.