Menu

9th grade planning help?

I'm starting to plan for next year and I'm trying to decide what courses would be good for DD. She does not enjoy academics, particularly science or math (especially math!), though she does like reading, creative writing and art. She's dyslexic. Humor or "fun" and/or highly visual classes work better than studying from a textbook.

I've been lurking on the boards for weeks, and researching until I'm dizzy, but I still don't have a clear plan for some subjects.

My current plan:

Math: Algebra I (need help on deciding which program/class provider would be best. I'm really lost on this.)

English: Shmoop English 9? (I have a 1 year subscription that expires in December, but I don't know if there would be some kind of fun writing/literature course that would also cover essay writing)

Spelling You See (yes, she still needs spelling)

Science: considering Guesthollow's chemistry, or biology at Fundafunda

Social Studies: Big History Project or US government and economics with Fundafunda

Foreign Language: she wants to study ASL, but I don't know where good classes for that could be found (might wait until 10th to start - my state only requires 2-3 years of foreign language)

Electives: Athletics - tumbling & trampoline (she puts at least 7 hours a week in, athletics are her passion, and I want to give her some credit for it. Also, our state requires at least 1 PE credit.)

Critical Thinking & Study Skills (Shmoop, half credit, fall semester)

Media Literacy (Shmoop, half credit, spring semester)

If she doesn't do foreign language, I'll probably enroll in her an art class and study art history for her fine arts credit.

I'm no help on math.