Menu

I'm an ignorant cook

Night Elf

Cold pot. Bring to a boil, turn off and cover...let them sit for 15 minutes (or until I remember that I left them on the stove! lol)

Same, but I add some baking soda first

Cold pot.   Bring to a boil, turn off and cover...let them sit for 15 minutes (or until I remember that I left them on the stove! lol)

Mine don't cook enough if I turn off the heat, so I turn the heat to the lowest setting the nanosecond the water boils, and let the pot set 15 minutes.

And then of course you take the pan to the sink and run cold water into the pan until all the hot water is gone. :-)

So technically, you are not *boiling* the eggs; you are hard-cooking them. :-)

• Like 1

How do you like your eggs done?

I was hard boiling it. It turned out perfectly, but I looked up the instructions for cooking it and was surprised it said to take it off the heat and cover to cook. I just don't see how the egg can cook like that. I was wondering if anyone boiled it a while like I do.

How do you boil an egg? I put it in a cold pot of water, put it on the stove and set the timer for 23 minutes. It doesn't appear to be overcooked. It tastes good.

From where I sit, "tastes good" = "good cook" 

• Like 5

How do you boil an egg? I put it in a cold pot of water, put it on the stove and set the timer for 23 minutes. It doesn't appear to be overcooked. It tastes good.

This is how I do it to. I've never heard of it any other way and am considered a good cook. Whatever works, I guess. I do put it in cold water when finished, especially with fresh eggs. It helps them peel better.

• Like 2

I don't boil a lot of eggs because I'm not a fan, but I'm pretty sure that's what I do. I look in the Betty Crocker Cookbook every time. Betty has never steered me wrong.