Menu

Song school latin

Ausmumof3

We had never planned to do Latin as part of homeschool. However between WTM, me having a bit of a fascination with words, languages and word roots and Dds animal and nature study fascination we are interested in starting some very basic Latin and seeing where it takes us. Is Song School the best place to start? She's 7, will be grade 3 next year. I have no background so I want to keep it easy.

Do we want the whole program or can you make it work from just the DVDs? I don't want to add a tonne of extra writing or paperwork at this stage.

Where did you buy it? Is it available from WTM press? I can't find it on book depository and only bits on Amazon. We're in Australia so shipping is a factor unfortunately.

Song School Latin is published by Classical Academic Press. You can see a fairly good sized sample of the workbooks on CAP's website. SSL1 is pretty light for the workbook. You can make it work with just the workbook and song CD. I do personally like the DVD as it helped me with pronunciation. SSL2 is a step up in skill and workload from SSL1 which would be fine as it is targeted to 3rd grade. I am grateful for the DVD as I need to watch it more than once to really get it in my own head. The workbook for SSL2 is 3 times as thick as SSL1 and delves into grammar and verb tenses. My son really likes the program because it keeps it fun and enjoyable.

I believe that other Australians mention Rainbow Resource as available to ship to Australia. It is cheapest from there.  

• Like 1

It depends a bit on what you want it to do, but it might be young for grade 3.

Song School Latin is, IMO, really just a fun thing for lower elementary kids.  The format is fun, they learn a little vocabulary and it might create some interest in Latin culture.  There is very little grammar.  The songs, to me, have almost a pre-school feel.