Menu

Advice re: homeschooling with anxiety/depression

This is my first year homeschooling my DS (6), also have DD (2) who is not being formalled educated yet.  My son went to part-time preschool (glorified daycare) and full-time Kindergarten in our community last year, but we pulled him this year to give him more one-on-one education due to attention issues and mild behavior issues.  In truth, my husband and I had wanted to do homeschool with him before this year, but I have been struggling with anxiety and depression for a few years.

We have been doing school for just over two months and while things have been going pretty well, it is really wearing on me.  I don't think my son should go back to the public school -- even with my struggles, I think he will get a better education at home -- but on bad days I am afraid that my mental/mood issues will make him hate learning.  We have a great curriculum and just do the basics together (2-3 out of the following 4 subjects Monday through Thursday - ELA, Reading (O-G), Math, and Science, plus "Elective Day" on Fridays for Library/Music/Health) and have other teachers involved for History, Art, and gym, so I don't think I can really pull back much more ...

Like I said, a lot of days go quite well, but today was a bad day.  

Anyone else out there pushing through similar difficulties?  What has helped you?  What has been best for you and your kids?

My son is about to turn 10, and we've been homeschooling since the beginning. I was diagnosed with depression/anxiety in college, and have been on medication since then. My meds suddenly stopped working this past year, so my doctor and I have been working to find a new regimen that works for me (with varying levels of success). So I have good days and not so good days.  

So, with all that being said, what works for me: