Menu

ACS Middle School Chemistry or Apologia Chemistry & Physics (elementary)??

ereks mom

I have zero experience with Apologia and I'm not YEC so it's not something I'd personally use... but I think it would depend greatly on your goals. The ACS program is really neat - leads through experiments entirely so all the learning is done through hands on stuff - there's some short readings, but they're really short. However, it's really only a semester long program (you could stretch it out by adding readings or just by taking it slow) and there are a lot of topics in middle school chemistry it doesn't cover. On the other hand, it's middle school chemistry and the excitement you might generate with it and the enjoyment of the program (I thought it was pretty fun overall) could be more important. 

If you're looking for something more laid out and comprehensive of topics, my guess is Apologia would be better.

• Like 1

The only thing about ACS being free is that we ended up spending a good bit on the supplies. Since it was free, I did buy things like the density cubes and the ball and ring apparatus from homesciencetools. Of course, there are a lot of things in there that you can do with household chemicals so you could pick and choose a bit to try it out.

• Like 2

I loved the ACS program! I did go overboard buying the supplies bc it was my first year homeschooling and it was so much fun buying all this cool stuff. I liked that the readings were short and I really liked the videos too. true, its 'short' but that was ok for me, we didnt do science every day and we took breaks too. I might use it for a non-college bound high schooler and see where it takes you. its a nice foundation if your high schooler wants to go further.

I have no experience with apologia.

• Like 3