Menu

Background Checks and High School Education

mommybee

Can anyone explain why a diploma isn't proof enough that I graduated high school?

I just got a new job and in the background check they keep trying to get my transcripts as proof of education and no one will answer me as to why a diploma isn't good enough.

I am hoping someone here can explain it to me cause it's driving me nuts!

Maybe but it was over 20 years ago. I found a sealed copy of my transcripts today and they said they were required to talk to the school directly.

Just seems like they aren't going to get much info from so long ago. I don't have a college degree but I am a certified pharmacy tech so I had tons of background just to get that license.

• Like 1

Maybe but it was over 20 years ago. I found a sealed copy of my transcripts today and they said they were required to talk to the school directly.

Just seems like they aren't going to get much info from so long ago. I don't have a college degree but I am a certified pharmacy tech so I had tons of background just to get that license.

You're a certified pharmacy tech and they want grades from 20 years ago?  That's nuts I think.

• Like 14

Is it your copy of the diploma. Anything not sent from the institution can be faked

Every place I've worked that wanted proof wanted an official transcript from the institution.

The only time a copy of my diploma was accepted as proof of graduation was when I registered to homeschool.

Is it your copy of the diploma. Anything not sent from the institution can be faked

Every place I've worked that wanted proof wanted an official transcript from the institution.

The only time a copy of my diploma was accepted as proof of graduation was when I registered to homeschool.

Yes, but if she's got her certification (and assuming that it's "provable"), then I'm not sure why they should care what came before. 

• Like 1

At least I know my thoughts on it being ridiculous are correct.