Menu

What's with the ads?

Kinsa

My son got in touch with his future roomie.

They've exchanged several emails, and about the only thing they've discussed is XBOX related.

At least they got their priorities right. (LOL)

Edited by Kinsa
  • Like 14

Ha!  At least they've got that in common!  

I remember when I was an incoming freshman.  Snail mail and exchanging a school picture was all we could do.  I wish I could have googled & done a little light internet research before meeting my roommate on move-in day.  That is one good thing about social media in today's world.  

• Like 1

Ha! At least they've got that in common!

I remember when I was an incoming freshman. Snail mail and exchanging a school picture was all we could do. I wish I could have googled & done a little light internet research before meeting my roommate on move-in day. That is one good thing about social media in today's world.

Actually, I think it can be a double-edged sword. Sometimes too much knowledge ahead of time can lead to snap judgments. I'm not saying it always does, but I know ds had a female friend who was in a triple at her school her freshman year, and there was definitely some drama already in the works before they ever arrived on campus.

At ds's school, everyone gets pot luck, and no one can choose a roommate ahead of time. It's not a perfect system, but no judgments can be made until you meet them in the flesh on move-in day. I kind of like that.

• Like 2

Kinsa, how did he get his roommate?

Totally random. Ds signed up for a particular dorm room, and apparently this kid did too. They know nothing of each other.

• Like 1

I asked ds last night where his roommate was from. He has no idea. But he knows which XBOX games the roomie's bringing to college. (LOL)

Edited by Kinsa
  • Like 6

Wow, that's super fast, not just in being assigned the room but in the school notifying the student. They sure are organized.