Menu

math recommendations for 5th grade

caedmyn

DD used Saxon 1st-3rd. This year she's using Math Mammoth, primarily because I thought Saxon 5/4 would take her about 1.5 hours a day (she tends to work slowly and get distacted easily) and I didn't want to spend that much time on math. MM takes probably 45 minutes a day. She did fine in Saxon and does fine in MM for the most part, but when she doesn't understand something in MM, it is fairly difficult for me to explain it in a way that she understands. She wants to go back to Saxon next year (said the explanations are clearer), but I'm still concerned that it will take her longer than I want to spend on math. I would like something a little clear/more self-taught (and not terribly expensive) than MM has proven to be for her. Any suggestions? Should we just give Saxon another try and cross off some of the problems each day?

I have no experience with Saxon but I do know that CLE math is an independent spiral workbook approach. Everything the student needs is in the workbook. It's written to the student. The teacher guides have the answers and other notes. I am using it now at a 5th grade level but this is not my easily distracted child. She is my child who loves math. I do have one child who does take a while to do her math and she is in the 3rd grade books. I think you may have that problem no matter what you use. 😕

I also have experience with MM. It's a very different approach than CLE. Mm is a mastery math program. Saxon, I believe, is a spiral program. I guess it all depends on what you're looking for. Are you looking for a less time consuming spiral program or a more easily explained mastery program?