Menu

Minecraft questions

I'm NOT an expert, but we just got this for the kids for Christmas, so I know a little.  YES, you have to buy them each their own, if they're playing on their own laptop and/or at the same time.  (My kids each have a laptop, so we had to buy it twice.)  They don't need to play online, but they like to - joining other people's worlds.  I don't especially care for that - who knows who they're joining with! - but apparently "we" have decided we're okay with it...

• Like 1

If you have two computers on the same "local" network (aka they are both connected to the same wi fi in the house), you can open it up to just those two players playing together. That gives you some of the fun of playing with someone without connecting to a public server. We have friends who host a private server - yes, you have to be connected to the Internet to use it but it is invite-only so no worries about chatting with strangers. It is all friends this family we are friends with.

If you only own one computer and will not have two people playing at the same time, you can buy one license only if the two players are willing to be nice about how their share their stuff in the game. This is how we started out (smaller investment before we were sure they loved to play). The kids just agreed to only play in their own worlds unless invited to by a sibling, and to not use siblings' stuff. But it was easier once we had multiple computers to install it on to just have multiple licenses instead.

• Like 1

Also, there are some programs for kids that have their own servers that are moderated and monitored by adults. Athena's Academy, for example, has one for kids doing their online classes, and some of the classes, especially things like the SOTW ones, have extensions which can be done on Minecraft (or as other creative projects).

• Like 1