Menu

Skoldo French

TheAttachedMama

Hello,

Is there anyone who could review Skoldo French for me?   Where is the best place to buy this if living in the US?   Is the teacher's guide necessary? 

Also, do you think someone who has had only US Public School French for 3 years could teach this?   (I am brushing up with Duolingo.)   I think I could based on the samples I see online...but would love to hear any first hand experience.    

Thanks!

Cathy

I have been using it for the last several years with my younger children. We've done Skoldo 1 in 1st grade, bk 2 in 2nd grade, bk 3 in 3rd grade, and then moved onto Galore Park's SYRWTL French in 4th grade. I order from Book Depository. 

The format is really straightforward. It's just a workbook with an audio cd. The workbook pages mainly teach themed vocabulary, but they are occasionally interspersed with pages that have French songs or simple reviews. The regular workbook pages have new vocabulary words and grammatical concepts in a box at the top (5-10 new words per page), 2-3 written activities, and then a French conversation at the bottom of the page. The corresponding track on the audio cd has a recording of each new word being pronounced clearly and then the conversation at a more normal speaking speed. The pages with songs have a recording of a song on the audio cd instead. You don't need the teacher's guide.