Menu

Bullet Journals

Anybody feel like talking about bullet journals?  Anyone using one for homeschool purposes? 

I have been keeping one erratically since 2014. But I recently spent some down time watching YouTube videos and got inspired to make some changes.

A lot of people are making videos that show lots of doodling and color-coding and washi tape. It reminds me of scrapbooking (which I used to do), and I have no desire to go down that path with my bullet journal. I love seeing just black ink on the white page :) I do have very nice handwriting, but I hadn't been bothering to use it. Now I am. Wow, what a difference. I love looking at neat pages, and I all I had to do was slow down a bit and be intentional about it.

I am actually working out of several books. If you are not a notebook nerd, then that probably sounds nuts, LOL.

(1) My bullet journal. It has weekly spreads but no forward planning. The forward planning is in Book #2. I am using an A5 Oxford notebook with grid lines. It is not anything fancy, but it has 90 gram paper and I love that.

(2) A custom planner that I made using that thing that gadget that has the spiral clips. Shoot, I can't remember the name of it.

(3) Daily homeschool log. This is an A5 Casebound Oxford notebook. I write down what we actually did each day. More 90 gram paper.

(4) And I just started a new book. This one is an A4 Casebound Oxford notebook. I got inspired by Boho Berry's Blog and Business Bullet Journal and decided to make a version for our homeschool. I just started laying this out, but I can tell you more once I set it up. I do a lot of mind mapping when I am designing courses & I would like to do those in this book. Lists seem like a good idea:  books read, field trips taken, skills to accomplish, types of writing assignments.  Mission statement. Goals.